Bangalore Education

More in Bangalore
Home > Schools & Colleges > Karnataka

Karnataka State Education

Karnataka the first University to be started is The Mysore University in the year of 1916. After that

  • Karnatak University (1949)
  • The Bangalore University (1964)
  • The Mangalore University (1980)
  • The Gulbarga University (1980)
  • and The Kuvempu University (1987).

The two Universities of Agricultural Sciences - the one at Bangalore (1965) and the other at Dharwad (1986),
Recently karnataka Government has started University at Hampi in 1991 to promote kannada learning and kannada culture.
In Bangalore there are other prestigious instituitions like the

  • Indian Statistical Institute
  • Indian Institute of Science
  • Indian Institute of Management
  • the National Law School of India University
  • Institute for Social and Economic Change

Bangalore, Mysore and Gulbarga Universities have been awarded 5 star status by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC), an autonomous institution of the University Grants Commission.

The Karnataka Private Medical Colleges Association (K.P.M.C.A), Karnataka Dental Colleges Association (K.P.D.C.A) & Karnataka Un-aided Private Engineering Colleges Association have in their endeavor to offer a "Single Window" approach to students seeking admissions, have evolved a self-imposed discipline in implementing the verdict of the apex court and have embarked on an endeavor to develop an effective, credible and alternative seat selection process for admissions & have decided to form a "Consortium of Private Medical, Dental & Engineering Colleges" named as 'COMED-K